100 Most Followed Instagram Accounts

Who has the most followers on Instagram?

We present the list of the 100 accounts with the most Instagram followers in 2018.

Scroll down to see the most followed accounts…

Who has the Most Followers on Instagram?

Instagram is an integral app on smartphone and Android devices across the globe. The lifestyles of the rich and the famous spread across social media platforms like wildfire, with the latest snippets from their fruitful style of living taking the internet by storm and often making international news.

Henceforth, popular actors, artists, sports people and a host of celebrities constantly share updates with millions of Instagram users. The most followed Instagram accounts have tens-of-millions of fans, but, who has the most Instagram followers? 

Top 5 most followed on Instagram: 

  1. Selena Gomez
  2. Cristiano Ronaldo
  3. Ariana Grande
  4. Beyonce
  5. Kim Kardashian West

8 of the top 10 with the most Instagram followers have an audience of more than 100 million.

Competition to be the most followed person on Instagram is a serious matter. Being popular on the platform is desirable to the influential, as well millions of other users from each corner of the world. A prominent goal is to be the answer to ‘who has the most followers on Instagram?’

(We are not including the official Instagram account within the data present in this article, apart from ranking purposes.)

List of the Top 100 with the Most Instagram Followers

This table presents a ranking of the accounts with the most followers on Instagram as of January 2018.

Rank Name Account Username Number of Followers
1 Instagram @instagram 231,303,381
2 Selena Gomez @selenagomez 132,905,019
3 Cristiano Ronaldo @cristiano 119,652,391
4 Ariana Grande @arianagrande 117,177,374
5 Beyoncé @beyonce 110,433,825
6 Kim Kardashian West @kimkardashian 106,593,904
7 Taylor Swift @taylorswift 106,130,103
8 Kylie Jenner @kyliejenner 100,905,429
9 Dwayne Johnson @therock 99,090,940
10 Justin Bieber @justinbieber 96,263,277
11 Neymar @neymarjr 88,007,957
12 Kendall Jenner @kendalljenner 86,510,387
13 Lionel Messi @leomessi 86,400,985
14 Nicki Minaj @nickiminaj 85,507,884
15 National Geographic @natgeo 85,118,174
16 Nike @nike 75,742,949
17 Miley Cyrus @mileycyrus 73,972,987
18 Jennifer Lopez @jlo 71,933,199
19 Khloé Kardashian @khloekardashian 71,899,334
20 Katy Perry @katyperry 68,405,988
21 Demi Lovato @ddlovato 65,167,165
22 Kourtney Kardashian @kourtneykardash 60,239,784
23 Rihanna @badgalriri 59,539,625
24 Victoria’s Secret @victoriassecret 58,601,923
25 Kevin Hart @kevinhart4real 56,505,000
26 Real Madrid @realmadrid 54,988,835
27 FC Barcelona @fcbarcelona 54,495,250
28 Ellen DeGeneres @theellenshow 50,305,915
29 Justin Timberlake @justintimberlake 48,292,644
30 Zendaya @zendaya 47,540,331
31 Vin Diesel @vindiesel 46,647,100
32 Shakira @shakira 45,152,643
33 9GAG @9gag 43,622,503
34 David Beckham @davidbeckham 41,954,439
35 Emma Watson @emmawatson 41,925,881
36 Chris Brown @chrisbrownofficial 41,701,066
37 Cara Delevingne @caradelevingne 41,130,159
38 Drake @champagnepapi 39,296,109
39 Gigi Hadid @gigihadid 37,929,534
40 LeBron James @kingjames 34,945,226
41 James Rodríguez @jamesrodriguez10 34,540,536
42 Zac Efron @zacefron 33,019,959
43 Gareth Bale @garethbale11 32,453,806
44 Nike @nikefootball 31,220,095
45 Adele @adele 31,089,716
46 Maluma @maluma 30,847,867
47 NASA @nasa 30,227,271
48 Zlatan Ibrahimović @iamzlatanibrahimovic 29,937,464
49 Ronaldinho @ronaldinho 29,279,487
50 Shawn Mendes @shawnmendes 28,409,096
51 Vanessa Hudgens @vanessahudgens 27,842,550
52 Lady Gaga @ladygaga 27,472,829
53 Zayn Malik @zayn 26,513,650
54 National Basketball Association @nba 26,465,795
55 Luis Suarez @luissuarez9 26,055,175
56 Chanel @chanelofficial 25,941,791
57 Anitta @anitta 25,701,294
58 Bruna Marquezine @brumarquezine 25,430,257
59 H & M @hm 24,219,048
60 Adidas Originals @adidasoriginals 24,188,550
61 Zara @zara 24,074,793
62 Huda Kattan @hudabeauty 24,016,627
63 Adidas Football @adidasfootball 23,816,119
64 Ayu Ting Ting @ayutingting92 23,274,417
65 Dan Bilzerian @danbilzerian 23,210,728
66 Harry Styles @harrystyles 22,989,723
67 Marina Ruy Barbosa @marinaruybarbosa 22,764,596
68 Marcelo Vieira Jr. @marcelotwelve 22,380,137
69 Connor McGregor @thenotoriousmma 22,177,784
70 National Geographic Travel @natgeotravel 22,153,821
71 Lele Pons @lelepons 21,696,619
72 Nicky Jam @nickyjampr 21,615,586
73 Karim Benzema @karimbenzema 21,471,371
74 Leonardo Di Caprio @leonardodicaprio 21,432,472
75 Zach King @zachking 21,298,106
76 Deepika Padukone @deepikapadukone 21,293,292
77 Snoop Dogg @snoopdogg 21,291,264
78 Sergio Ramos @sr4oficial 21,250,637
79 Raffiahmad Nagitaslavina @raffinagita1717 21,224,906
80 Priyanka Chopra @priyankachopra 21,165,071
81 Louis Vuitton @louisvuitton 20,971,921
82 Andres Iniesta @andresiniesta8 20,881,651
83 Cameron Dallas @camerondallas 20,764,358
84 Gucci @gucci 20,665,704
85 Paul Pogba @paulpogba 20,465,454
86 Manchester United @manchesterunited 20,436,267
87 Laudya Cynthia Bella @laudyacynthiabella 20,429,187
88 Niall Horan @niallhoran 20,342,627
89 Syahrini @princessyahrini 20,218,697
90 Scott Disick @letthelordbewithyou 20,175,584
91 José Álvaro Osorio Balvin @jbalvin 20,114,913
92 Tata Werneck @tatawerneck 19,944,195
93 Prilly Latuconsina @prillylatuconsina86 19,940,090
94 Alia @aliaabhatt 19,910,713
95 Floyd Mayweather @floydmayweather 19,791,065
96 Ivete Sangalo @ivetesangalo 19,736,229
97 Lucy Hale @lucyhale 19,455,840
98 UEFA Champions League @championsleague 19,320,612
99 Amanda Cerny @amandacerny 19,310,180
100 Shraddha @shraddhakapoor 19,249,577

We think you may also be interested in: 100 accounts with the most Twitter followers

Finer Insights

From the top 100 most followed on Instagram, we can highlight the following insights:

  • The 100 accounts with the most followers on Instagram are followed by over 4.4 billion accounts
  • Of the top 100 accounts, each profile on average has 44 million followers
  • More women feature in the top 100 than men (41 vs 38)
  • Cumiltively, female accounts have more than 2.03 billion followers between them
  • Cumilitvely, male accounts have more than 1.43 billion followers between them
  • Musicians feature more than any other group, followed by sports people, then film stars
  • Musician accounts average 51 million followers, over 15 million more than actor/actress accounts

Instagram Overview

Instagram launched in October 2010 and was swiftly purchased by Facebook for $1 billion in 2012. Over seven years later, it is bigger than ever and the platform continues to grow. Now much larger than a photo sharing app, Instagram has a large social dominance. It has become one of the most popular apps of all time and the social media titan has over 800 million active users.

With the ability to set trends, unite users through hashtags, and share the ins-and-outs of people’s lives from all the world, Instagram is very much at the forefront of social media, Since its birth as a photo sharing app, Instagram has adopted video, stories, and direct messaging to become a modern tool for all mobile devices.

 

About BirdSong Analytics

We provide so much more than just ‘who has the most followers on Instagram’…

Listed in Forbes as ‘one of the top 10 tools your agency won’t tell you about’, we are one of the world’s leading pay as you go social media analytics tools. We are trusted by major brands, global media organizations, leading universities, agencies, journalists, publishers, and researchers around the world.

See alsoInstagram Analytics | Twitter Analytics | Facebook Analytics

*Data accurate as of January 2018